Medicine and Mayhem
The Dr. Laura Nelson Files


Buy From


Buy From


Buy From

About Medicine and Mayhem

New York Times and USA Today Best-selling Author

Award-Winning 4-Book Medical Thriller Collection


This four-book collection follows Laura Nelson from her days as a medical student in Detroit during the 1967 riots through her assent to the position of Chief of Surgery in Tampa. Tragically, at the peak of her professional success, a fall on the ice and a devastating hand injury ends her surgical career. But Laura proves resilient and lands the top research job in a large pharmaceutical company.

Seven years in Laura's life separate each of the four novels in the collection. Laura's personal life evolves just as do the threats—initiated in the dark days of Detroit—that have haunted her every step along the way.


"Only a physician who is also a great writer could have crafted this novel. The suspense is riveting, the pacing masterful. Patricia Gussin is a wonderful storyteller, and Shadow of Death is medical suspense at its best." —Michael Palmer, New York Times best-selling author

"Patricia Gussin's Twisted Justice is a thriller that would've made Hitchcock proud: an innocent women caught in a tangled web of intrigue and mortal danger.  Here is a novel is as riveting as it is relentless, driving toward a climax that will have you burning through pages late into the night. Not to be missed!" —James Rollins, New York Times best-selling author

"Relentless suspense and pitch-perfect medical details make Weapon of Choice a knockout, a truly infectious thriller you won't be able to put down!"—Tess Gerritsen, New York Times best-selling author